supported by its audience. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More

Language of Thorns: Midnight Magic!

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
  • Hardcover Book
  • Bardugo, Leigh (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 288 Pages - 09/26/2017 (Publication Date) - Imprint (Publisher)

Last update on 2023-09-27 / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

View on Amazon

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic – A Captivating Collection of Grishaverse Fairy Tales

Step into the enchanting world of the Grishaverse with The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic. This beautifully illustrated collection of six stories will transport you to a realm filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love. Written by Leigh Bardugo, a master of fantasy, this book is a must-read for both new readers and dedicated fans.

Deliciously Atmospheric and Fully-Illustrated

The Language of Thorns takes you on a journey through dark bargains struck by moonlight, haunted towns, and dangerous woods. In this world, talking beasts roam and gingerbread golems come to life. From a young mermaid with the power to summon deadly storms to a lovestruck boy who strikes a terrible bargain with a river, each story is filled with peril and enchantment.

What sets this book apart is its stunning illustrations. Each story is accompanied by lavish illustrations that are as rich in detail as the tales themselves. The combination of Bardugo’s masterful storytelling and the stylishly intricate artwork creates an otherworldly experience that will leave you captivated.

A Collection of Twisted Fairy Tales

Leigh Bardugo doesn’t simply retell familiar tales; she rips them open and weaves them into a tapestry of darkness and beauty. The Language of Thorns features three brand-new tales along with three previously published stories, all of which dive deep into the darker side of folktales and folktale-like stories. Pain, danger, and vengeance are skillfully intertwined to create a thrilling and unforgettable reading experience.

Whether you’re a fan of retellings or original fairy tales, The Language of Thorns will leave you spellbound. Bardugo’s incredible imagination and skillful prose transport you to a world that is both familiar and strange, where the line between good and evil is often blurred.

Praise for The Language of Thorns

The Language of Thorns has received widespread acclaim from critics and readers alike. Booklist describes it as “lushly designed and wonderfully rendered,” while School Library Journal praises its “strong writing” and “compelling stories.” Kirkus Reviews calls it “gorgeously otherworldly,” and NPR commends Bardugo for keeping the darkness intact in these fairy tales.

But don’t just take their word for it. Immerse yourself in this nightmare-inducing collection and experience the brilliance of Leigh Bardugo’s storytelling firsthand.

Recommended Reading Order in the Grishaverse

If you’re new to the Grishaverse, you may be wondering where to start. The Language of Thorns is a standalone collection that can be enjoyed on its own. However, if you want to delve further into this captivating world, here are the recommended reading orders:

  • The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
  • The Six of Crows Duology
  • The King of Scars Duology
  • The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Each series offers a unique and immersive reading experience that will keep you hooked from beginning to end.

Final Thoughts

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic is a captivating collection of Grishaverse fairy tales that will transport you to a world of dark magic and enchantment. From the lush prose to the intricate illustrations, every aspect of this book is meticulously crafted to create an unforgettable reading experience. Whether you’re a fan of fairy tales or fantasy, this book is a must-have for your collection.

BooksScience Fiction & FantasyTeen & Young Adult

You May Also Like

Back to top button